Skip to content

Honorary award recipients

Honorary Fellows of the Waikato Institute of Technology

Sir Edmund Hillary*2002
Sir William Gallagher2002
Dame Jocelyn Fish, DNZM, CBE, JP2003
Bill Foreman*2003
Mike Chunn2004
Brian Perry*2004
Oswald (Ossie) James O.B.E., D.C.N.Z.M.*2005
Te Arikinui Dame Te Ātairangikaahu ONZ DBE*2006
John Gallagher CNZM, K St J, JP2007
Laurie Pilling MBE2007
Jerry Rickman2008
Dr Andy West2009
John Spencer2011
Sir Henry van der Heyden2011
Professor Jiliu Zhou2012
Josh Emett2012
Gordon Chesterman2013
John Cook2014
Clint Baddeley*2015
Dr Peter Robinson*2016
Le’aupepe Elisapeta (Peta) Karalus2019

Honorary Degrees of the Waikato Institute Of Technology

Sir Edmund Hillary*Master of Science (Sport and Exercise Science)2002
Sir Patrick Hogan*Master of Science (Sport and Exercise Science)2002
Colin Meads*Master of Science (Sport and Exercise Science)2003
Maxine Hodgson*Bachelor of Applied Social Science2005
Annah StrettonMaster of Arts2006
Ruth AitkenMaster of Science (Sport and Exercise Science)2006
Keith (Midge) Marsden Dip SST, MNZMMaster of Arts2007
Daniel VettoriMaster of Science (Sport and Exercise Science)2010
Irene van DykMaster of Science (Sport and Exercise Science)2010
Lynda and Jools Topp
(aka The Topp Twins)
Master of Arts2010
Bernie CrosbyBachelor of Business Studies2010
Venetia ShersonMaster of Arts2011
Monica Leggat*Master of Science (Sport and Exercise Science)2012
Richard O'BrienMaster of Arts2013
Anthea SimcockBachelor of Social Science (Social Work)2015​
Susie RyanMaster of Nursing2016
Liam MessamMaster of Science (Sport and Exercise Science)2016
Te Radar (Andrew Lumsden)Master of Arts2016
Sir James WallaceMaster of Arts2019
Dallas FisherMaster of Applied Innovation2019

Waikato Institute of Technology Medal

Hare Puke*Kaumātua2003
Peter JohnsonPrincipal of Waikato Technical Institute and Waikato Polytechnic
1982 - 1995
David Peart JPEnvironment Waikato Councillor, former Wintec Council Chairman, Hamilton City Councillor and Waikato District Councillor2007
Kevin SweeneyLong serving staff member of Wintec & Mobile Technology Outreach Artechmobile Unit Manager2009
Dale WilliamsOtorohanga Mayor and founder of the Otorohanga Trade Centre2010
David FredericksenFounder and Chair, Convex Plastics2015
Richard HillCo-founder, ​Former Managing Director and Chairman, Chow:Hill Architects2015
Peter StarkGeneral Manager, Montana Catering2015
Maureen SpeedyNurse Manager, Waikato Family Centre2015​​


Wintec is part of Te Pūkenga - New Zealand Institute of Skills and Technology Learn More

Learn with purpose

Explore Te Pūkenga

Te Kāwanatanga o Aotearoa - New Zealand Government

Te Kāwanatanga o Aotearoa - New Zealand Government

Copyright © 2022 Wintec