David Williams

Dave_Williams_1

Senior Academic Staff Member

Contact info

Phone
Location

What do you love about your job?

I love that I get to combine my work and my passion. I get to explore some of New Zealand’s most beautiful wilderness and use it as a classroom.

How would you describe your approach to teaching?

I use the concept of ako in my teaching approach. I like to go on the learning journey with our tauira and share my knowledge in an organic way to encourage students to contribute to our learning environment. I am also a strong advocate of experiential learning and when appropriate, learning through play. 

What is your experience in the industry?

After studying outdoor education and teaching at AUT, I became a secondary school teacher. I have run the outdoor departments at three different schools as well as taught health and PE. While growing and promoting outdoor education at a variety of schools, I have also developed many resources, run workshops and been a part of a team redeveloping the outdoor unit standards at levels 1-3. Aside from my school life, I am currently on a challenge to be the first person to climb the highest peak on the seven continents from sea level to raise awareness for mental health (sea2summit7.com). I am supported in this journey by our industry leaders, Bivouac Outdoors, The North Face, and Radix Nutrition. 

What are your qualifications and educational background?

  • Diploma in Outdoor Recreation and Leadership (Level 6), AUT, 2006
  • Bachelor of Sport and Recreation, Outdoor Major (Level 7), AUT, 2008
  • Postgraduate Diploma in Secondary Teaching (Level 7), AUT, 2009
  • AUT Significant Student Scholarship Award recipient (2006-2008)
  • Certificate in Adult Tertiary Teaching (Level 5), Wintec, 2020
  • NZ Outdoor Instructor Association Awards
    Bush 1, Sea Kayak 1, Alpine 1, Rock 1, Canoe 1
  • NZ Trampoline Team Coach (2007-2010)
  • NZSC Surf coach level 1

What are some of your hobbies and interests?

I live in Raglan on the West Coast with my wife and young baby. This was not an accident, as my happy places include, running on trails, surfing left-hand point breaks, or spearfishing and free diving. If the surf and vis are no good, then I will most likely be climbing a mountain or attempting a building project at home under the supervision of my dog Max. These days, nothing beats a morning Raglan Roast coffee and a beach walk with the whole whānau.

About

Awards

Qualifications

Areas of expertise

Industry experience, affiliations, and achievements

Research activity

Select publications

What do you enjoy about teaching/your job?

What do you love about your area?

Tell us about your experience in the industry

What keeps you busy outside of Media Arts?

Wintec is part of Te Pūkenga - New Zealand Institute of Skills and Technology Learn More

Learn with purpose

Explore Te Pūkenga

Te Kāwanatanga o Aotearoa - New Zealand Government

Te Kāwanatanga o Aotearoa - New Zealand Government

Copyright © 2022 Wintec