The Wintec Board

Waikato Institute of Technology Limited

Board of Directors


Niwa Nuri

Niwa Nuri (Te Arawa)


Niwa was appointed a member of Wintec Council in 2017 and Deputy Chair in 2018.

He is an elected member of the Te Arawa Lakes Trust and currently chairs the Lakes Trust’s Audit Finance and Risk Committee, as well as a Board of Trustee member on Rototuna Primary School and a fellow of Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand.

He holds a Bachelor of Management Studies from the University of Waikato and is a former chair of Trust Waikato. Niwa has a strong desire to contribute to Waikato Institute of Technology Limited and to create a regionally accessible vocational education and training facility.

Margaret Devlin

Margaret Devlin

Deputy Chair

Margaret is an experienced independent company director, working primarily in the infrastructure and service sectors throughout New Zealand. Her governance roles include Chair of Watercare, Lyttleton Port and Women in Infrastructure, a network established to improve diversity and inclusion within the infrastructure sector.

She is a director of Hamilton Airport, MetService New Zealand, Aurora Networks, Infrastructure New Zealand and IT Partners. Margaret is the independent Chair of the Waikato Audit and Risk Committee. She is a Chartered Fellow of the Institute of Directors. Margaret is passionate about working with businesses to achieve sustainable benefits and outcomes, focusing on People, Planet and Profit.

Michael Crawford

Michael Crawford

Michael is a Waikato-based professional director active in areas including insurance, health, accommodation and investment. His directorships include the Wairoa Iwi investment arm, Tātau Tātau o Te Wairoa Commercial Limited, and he chairs the board of insurance broker and risk manager Frank Risk New Zealand Limited.

His wide-ranging experience includes strategy development and implementation, change management, and financial governance and risk management. Over 30 years of business experience informs his approach to achieving good outcomes for stakeholders including customers, owners, staff, iwi and the community.

Michael is a Chartered Director, Chartered Accountant and an enrolled Barrister and Solicitor.

Kiri Goulter

Kiri Goulter

Kiri has over 20 years’ experience in the tourism and economic development sectors. She was the Chief Executive of Hamilton & Waikato Tourism for seven years and held management roles with Tourism New Zealand and Enterprise Northland.

Kiri is the Deputy Chair of the Waikato Regional Economic Development Agency Te Waka, Trustee of Te Awa Cycle Trail, and member of the Wintec Council since May 2018. Kiri is a former teacher, has a Graduate Diploma in Economic Development and is a member of the Institute of Directors.

Kiri has her own consultancy company and is currently leading the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment’s destination management and planning programme.

Tania Hodges

Tania Hodges


Ngāti Pāhauwera, Ngāti Ranginui, Ngāti Hauā, Tuwharetoa, Maniapoto, Kahungunu.

Tania has substantial governance experience. Based in Hamilton, Tania is the Managing Director of Digital Indigenous.Com Ltd, providing advice on governance and leadership, strategic development, change management, Māori and Iwi relationships, and community development. She was a ministerial appointment to the New Zealand Institute of Skills and Technology (NZIST) Establishment Board and is now a Council member of the new NZIST Board and Toi Ohomai Institute of Technology Ltd. Tania has an MBA and other tertiary qualifications in social science, business research and Te Reo Māori to complement her Registered Psychiatric Nursing qualification. Tania's biggest achievement is being the proud Mum of 4 children.

Raewyn Mahara

Raewyn Mahara

Waikato, Ngāti Mahuta. Te Ati Awa, Otaraua, Manukorihi. Taranaki, Ngāti Moeahu.

B.Ed, MBA – University of Waikato.

Raewyn is a passionate advocate for elevating the iwi lens across the education sector. As General Manager for Education and Pathways at Waikato-Tainui, she has led the development and implementation of the current Waikato-Tainui Education Plan for the last seven years.

Her team is responsible for managing extensive relationships with hapū, other iwi, education providers, government agencies, employers and industry partners. With over twenty-five years’ experience in education, Raewyn sits on several advisory panels to the Ministry of Education and brings a unique iwi perspective and approach to transforming education for Māori learners.

Pamela Storey

Pamela Storey

Pamela is currently a Director with Primary ITO, an elected Waikato Regional Councillor and Chair of the WRC Strategy and Policy Committee, Trustee of the Dairy Women’s Network, Chair of the Upper North Island Client Council for Rabobank, and Deputy Chair of The Good Collective.

She is a proud food producer and dairy farmer in the North Waikato and has held numerous governance roles in a variety of sectors including education, energy, environmental, healthcare and primary industry. Pamela holds an Electrical Engineering degree from Washington State University (USA) and an MBA from the University of Reading (UK).

    Notice of Meeting

    On 1 April 2020, in accordance with the Education Act 1989 as amended, the Waikato Institute of Technology became a limited liability company 'Waikato Institute of Technology Limited', and a wholly-owned subsidiary of the New Zealand Institute of Skills and Technology (NZIST).


    Members of the public are entitled to attend board meetings, subject to section 48 of the Local Government Official Information and Meetings Act 1987 (LGOIMA). The meeting agenda and associated reports (if any) will be available at least two working days before the meeting, on request, by contacting the Board Secretary phone 07 834-8886. They will not be available for inspection at our offices in light of COVID-19 until further notice.
    In light of COVID-19, board and committee meetings of the Waikato Institute of Technology Limited will be held by way of an audio/video conference rather than in-person until further notice. Please contact the Board Secretary phone 07 834-8886 if you would like to join the meeting and log-in details will be provided to you.

    2020 Board meetings

    Time: 3pm
    Venue: Meeting Room 1, Level 2, B Block, Wintec City Campus

    • 18 May 2020
    • 15 June 2020
    • 20 July 2020
    • 17 August 2020
    • 21 September 2020
    • 19 October 2020
    • 16 November 2020
    • 15 December 2020

      First Board Meeting – Waikato Institute of Technology Limited

      The inaugural board meeting was held on 2 April 2020 and a recording of the meeting is available to download here.