The 2017 Māori Education Trust Tertiary Scholarships

The Māori Education Trust 2017 Scholarship Programme is now open and offers scholarships to secondary and tertiary students who meet the respective scholarships’ criteria.

A copy of the 2017 tertiary scholarship flyers are attached for you

NOTE: While we encourage tertiary students to apply online (unless applying for a Pae Tawhiti Scholarship), forms can be located on the Maori Education Trust website.  The Pae Tawhiti Scholarship application can also be located on our website.   Tertiary applications and supporting documentation must reach the Māori Education Trust by 4.30 pm, 31 Poutū-te-rangi (March) 2017.

The Scholarship Programme is relevant to tertiary students made up of the following scholarships:

 Tertiary Scholarships

  • Eric Hall McCormick Scholarship (Postgraduate)
  • Frances Irwin Hunt Art Scholarship (Undergraduate)
  • Nicholas Irwin Hunt Writing Scholarship (Undergraduate)
  • Norman Kirk Memorial Scholarship (Undergraduate)
  • Pae Tawhiti Scholarship (hard-copy application which can be located on the MET website)
  • Queen Elizabeth II Post-Graduate Fellowship (Postgraduate)
  • Rangiriri & Matene Te Whiwhi Winiata Scholarship (Postgraduate)
  • Rose Hellaby Bursaries Scholarship (Undergraduate)
  • Rose Hellaby Postgraduate Scholarship
  • Roy Watling Mitchell Bursaries Scholarship (Undergraduate)
  • Roy Watling Mitchell Prestigious Professions Scholarship (Postgraduate)
  • Sir Apirana Ngata Memorial Scholarship (Undergraduate)
  • Sister Annie Henry Scholarship (open to secondary & tertiary students)
  • Tī Maru Māori Trust Scholarship (Undergraduate)
  • Tī Maru Māori Trust Prestigious Scholarship (Postgraduate)

Certificates, National Certificates and Diplomas

The 2017 Regina Rudland Memorial Scholarship is now open and is available to a Māori student of Ngāti Porou descent, undertaking study in the field of Agriculture or Apiculture at Level 3 or higher. Download the application form here. 

Certificates and Diplomas may include, but not be restricted to, the following:  

  • Certificate in Apiculture (Level 3)
  • Certificate in Agriculture (Level 3)
  • Certificate in Farming in Dairy (Level 3)
  • Certificate in Equine (Level 3)
  • National Certificate in Farming Skills (Level 3)
  • National Certificate in Equine (Stable) (Level 3)
  • National Certificate in Agriculture in Animal Feeding & Pastures (Level 3)
  • National Certificate in Agriculture (Level 4)
  • Diploma in Agriculture (Level 5)
  • Diploma in Dairy Management (Level 5)
  • Diploma for Rural Veterinary Technicians (Level 5)
  • Diploma in Farm Management (Level 6)

 Applicants must be enrolled in full-time study for the full year; meet criteria for the scholarship, and submit the application and supporting documentation on time.  Priority will be given to a those with demonstrated financial need.  

 Applications for the 2017 Regina Rudland Memorial Scholarship and supporting documentation must reach the Māori Education Trust by 4.30 pm, Friday, 4.30 pm, 31 Poutū-te-rangi (March) 2017.   

​​If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to contact the Māori Education Trust office on (04) 586 7971

Other scholarship opportunities

​​Throughout Aotearoa/NZ some Iwi authorities also provide limited financial assistance to Iwi members/descendants, in the form of education grants, scholarships and/or awards.  Most Iwi education grants and scholarship applications close between February and April of each year. 

Students interested in applying for any iwi grant/scholarship should complete the following steps:

a) Registered with your iwi authority/authorities

b) Have received letter of acceptance for your chosen tertiary study program

c) Have verified copies of your Birth Certificate & Tertiary institution fees invoice.

For more info try Te Kāhui Māngai Iwi Directory, or our Scholarships Website